Daianji Temple is a Rinzai sect Myoshinji temple, built in 1658 by the fourth feudal lord of Fukui, Mitsumichi. For more than 350 years since its foundation, the building has not been damaged by war or earthquake and remains almost the same as when it was first built.
Hundreds of cultural properties are preserved inside the temple, including the Rakan drawings, an important cultural property designated by the national government. The temple is also open to the public.
Behind the main hall of the temple is a cemetery with the mausoleums of the successive feudal lords of Fukui. The cemetery is called “Senjojiki,” or a Thousand Tatami Mats because it contains 1,360 tatami-sized pieces of “shakudani” stone, a stone found in Fukui that is famous all over Japan. The sight of the line of 4-meter high tombstones is breathtaking.
The temple grounds also contain an iris garden, where a festival is held every June for visitors to enjoy the thousands of budding irises.
|Business (opening) hours||9:00 - 17:00 (last entry at 16:30)|
|Day off||None *Except for days with sermons|
|Usage fee||Standard entrance fee: 500 yen|